© 2019 by Lisa Bunker

Reviews, features, interviews, articles, etc.

October 20, 2019

Exclusive feature in The Advocate

Advocate feature writer Donald Padgett interviewed me back in June about Felix and Zen and what I'm trying to accomplish with my books. His exclusive article now appears on their online and print platforms.

August 24, 2019

Zenobia featured in Advocate list

Zen finds herself in excellent company in this list from the Advocate of 30 queer-friendly books for young adults, kids, and families.

August 19, 2019

YA! Podcast feature

Montréal-based podcasters Kadi and Teffer have a wide-ranging conversation about Zenobia, noting a bunch of stuff no other reviewers have ever talked about. A really aware and nuanced read. Yes, thank you!

July 31, 2019

Review from ReadWonder book blogger Patrick Andrus

This Minnesota-based 4th grade teacher and book blogger picked up a copy of Zen at #NerdCampMI, and felt moved to write a strong assessment. 

June 28, 2019

Conversation with Birthday author Meredith Russo in Shelf Awareness

For Pride, Shelf Awareness invited Meredith and me to have a conversation for publication. I had a blast emailing back and forth with her. The finished piece is edited down to about one tenth of its original length. Ha!

June 27, 2019

Review of Zen at The Geekiary

Blogger Jamie Sugah included Zen in a series of books reviewed during Pride. I love the name of the blog. :-)

June 27, 2019

A well-written profile at Seacoast Online

Abby Arsenault did a really nice job, I thought, on this piece. "Trans Author gives voice to 'Rainbow Humans.'"

June 22, 2019

Zen review at Foxclouds

This Canadian book blogger does not make her name easy to find, so I can't credit her by name, but it seems a well-established and well-run blog.

June 14, 2019

Zen review in Shelf Awareness

The review writer is Terry Hong from Smithsonian BookDragon, which has the tagline, "Books for the Multi-Culti Reader.

June 13, 2019

Guest post for B&N Kids blog

In "The Halfway Helpful Stories of my Childhood," I look back on some of the re-read favorites of my years as an unexpressed trans girl, examining how they helped me, and how they let me down.

June 09, 2019

Feature article on Brightly

Brightly is a blog platform with the tagline, "Raise Kids Who Love to Read." My article for them is "Why I Write Realistic and Relatable Young Rainbow Characters."

June 07, 2019

NHPR Bookshelf interview about Zenobia

It's always a pleasure talking with Peter Biello at New Hampshire Public Radio. We got into the origins of Zen, the universal horror of middle school, word geekery, and a little politics too.

June 05, 2019

New Release Spotlight at LGBTQ Reads

Rainbow book blogger Dahlia Adler has been a consistent friend of my writing, and I am so grateful. Her post includes a lovely mini-review.

May 31, 2019

Guest post at Books Beyond Binaries

Trans enby bookseller and blogger emmy kindly gave me space to do a rant, so I laid out my philosophy of Post-Binary Narrative. A manifesto for maybe possibly surviving the future!

May 30, 2019

Instragram pics from The Bookish Fiiasco

I especially love that in the second picture, you can see that she's using a boarding pass as a bookmark. 

May 29, 2019

Podcast review from Teen Title Talk

Every two weeks, Derry, NH-based librarians Erin and Courtney talk about two books. They approach Zenobia July as a mystery first, and as an LGBTQ book second, which I love. 

May 29, 2019

Review by Katherine Kleffner at The Nerdy Girl Express

"I would strongly recommend Zenobia July to young readers and also to adults who are trying to become better allies to the LGBTQ+ community."

May 27, 2019

Guest Post on Andy Winder's LGBT YA Blog

Andy invited me to give advice to Young Rainbow Humans, so I wrote a letter. Love, Auntie-of-choice Lisa!

May 23, 2019

Review from book blogger/writer The Quirky Book Nerd

"...definitely has the potential to have a profound impact on a reader’s life and broaden their view of society and the world itself."

May 21, 2019

"The Power of Story to Change Hearts and Minds" - B&N Kids Blog interview

Melissa Sarno at the Barnes and Noble Kids blog asked some truly thoughtful questions, and we had a lovely exchange.

May 21, 2019

"Wonder but with Gender" - Tucker the Reader review

An enthusiastic release-day review from young book blogger extraordinaire Tucker A.!

May 21, 2019

Review from "Always in the Middle..." blogger Greg Pattridge

A lovely write-up from this long-established middle-grade reviewer, who remembers Felix too!

May 20, 2019

Interview with LGBTQ book blogger Lee Wind

The blog is called "I'm Here. I'm Queer. What the hell do I read?" We had a great exchange about Zen and about Post-Binary Narrative.

May 20, 2019

Instagram cover shot and review from Reed Family Reads

Friya Bankwalla, my digital publicist at Viking, worked up an incredible blog tour around Zen's release, and this glowing review is stop #1!

May 15, 2019

Prose and Kahn blog review of Zen

A lovely pre-publication review from middle school librarian blogger Brenda Kahn. 

March 27, 2019

Publishers Weekly review of Zen

A complimentary early industry review. "Bunker brings considerable empathy and skill to her authentic, nuanced portrayal..."

January 22, 2019

B&N Kids blog feature

Kidlit blogger extraordinaire Dahlia Adler included Zen in a list of five upcoming LGBTQ+ Middle Grade titles to watch for. 

December 04, 2018

Zenobia July cover reveal on Nerdy Book Club

We splashed out the cover of my upcoming release, Zenobia July, in early December on the lovely Nerdy Book Club website. I guest-wrote a post about the inspirations for the story.

March 26, 2018

Maine Student Book Award Reading List

And, another state-wide year-long reading list inclusion for Felix Yz! I was living in Maine when I wrote Felix, so I'm particularly pleased to be included in the coming year.

March 09, 2018

Felix nominated for the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award

Felix Yz has been chosen as one of 30 books that will be read by Vermont school kids through the 2018-2019 school year. The students then vote for the award winner. 30 is a big field and it's crammed with stellar competition, so a win is a long shot, but just to be nominated is an honor!

November 27, 2017

Kirkus Review Best Middle Grade of 2017

The folks at Kirkus have been so supportive of Felix, and they're doing amazing work with diversity across all the spectra. 

November 22, 2017

East Bay Express Holiday Shopping Guide

Such an honor to have Felix included in this list of holiday book shopping ideas from the bay area in California! "Filled with characters all along the LGBTQ spectrum, Felix Yz is a heart-warming tale of acceptance and connection."

November 17, 2017

Evanston Library 101 Great Books of 2017 list

It's the first year for this new list, and they very kindly included Felix among the middle grade novels they recommend. He is in excellent company. So many good books!

September 18, 2017

Writing While Trans

My writing friend Alex Myers and I were featured in the Huffington Post with an authorial dialog we wrote about the challenges (and a few advantages) of being transgender writers.

September 12, 2017

"This charming, engaging, humorous, and heartrending tale of self-awareness and coming of age is enriched by the superb audio presentation."

Starred review from SLJ of the audiobook version of Felix. Unending authorial gratitude and props to Michael, Tara, Erin, Simone, Julie, and everyone at Listening Library!

September 04, 2017

"A Fantastic Debut"

Five stars on two different scales from Kristie Lowry at YA Books Central! Woohoo! "Felix Yz is a wise and beautiful story that combines humor with heartache, and it’s sure to keep the attention of readers of all ages." 

June 25, 2017

"I strongly encourage you to give this book a go. It was great."

Any reviewer who places Felix on the same shelf as A Wrinkle in Time is my new best friend. :-) Humble thanks to Avalinah's Books!

June 23, 2017

NHPR Bookshelf interview

I had a really fun conversation with Peter Biello at New Hampshire Public Radio which aired as one of their regular "Bookshelf" features. Audio stream and complete text at the link, plus my top five book recommendations!

June 17, 2017

"Bunker has created an exceptional book for middle grade readers."

Much gratitude to Tasha Saecker at the blog Waking Brain Cells for a kind and insightful review! Also, "A dynamic mix of LGBT, science fiction and growing up, this novel is entirely unique just like its main character."

June 12, 2017

"One of the most unusual titles to come along this year or any year."

Thank you to book blogger Greg Pattridge and his blog "Always In The Middle..." for his warm and insightful review of Felix. He sees so much of what I was trying to accomplish. :-)

June 09, 2017

“Lisa Bunker's clever science fiction debut is heartwarming and witty."

Starred review from Shelf Awareness. Also, "The marvelously diverse cast of Felix Yz is certain to charm audiences and leave them eagerly anticipating what Bunker will deliver next.”

June 08, 2017

Author profile in Kirkus Reviews

Article resulting from a really fun conversation I had with Kirkus' Megan Labrise. All the geekeries!

June 07, 2017

Guest blog post at LGBTQ Reads: Can A Story Be Too Diverse?

"The queerness-density strained credulity, she said. (This comment about a story of a boy melded with a fourth-dimensional being.)"

June 05, 2017

Guest blog post at LeeWind.org: The Many Lives of Felix Yz

On the eve of Felix's release, Lee kindly invited me to write a guest blog post. The whole messy saga of the creation of the book laid bare!

June 01, 2017

Seacoast Online feature - Local Press!

In addition to the website version, this article also appeared in the print edition of the Exeter News-Letter.

May 25, 2017

Guest blog post at Kid Lit Universe: That Lovely Family Humor Vibe

Joyce and Amy at Kid Lit Universe kindly invited me to write for them. The article is about the attempt I made in Felix Yz to depict a version of the quirky humor of my family while I was writing the book. 

May 15, 2017

"There are plenty of laughs to be had in this lovable debut. Bunker is an author to watch."

Review in Booklist. Note you need a Booklist subscription to read the full review.

May 08, 2017

"Felix’s story is a love letter to anyone who feels out of place and a testament to the beauty of being 'different.'"

Starred review in Publisher's Weekly.

March 06, 2017

"Joyful, heartbreaking, completely bonkers, and exuberantly alive."

Kirkus, starred review of Felix Yz. Also: "Above all, it’s about Felix’s voice: acutely perceptive, disarmingly witty, devastatingly honest, and utterly captivating."

October 27, 2016

Nerdy Book Club cover reveal

Includes a guest post I wrote about my mission to write thrilling stories featuring LGBTQ+ characters without that being The Point.

Please reload